School Alerts
Home / About Us / Governors


As we have recently become part of the Reach4 Academy Trust, governance details are still being updated – should you have any queries, please contact the school office.

Please download our doc_iconDeclaration of Interest Document

John Brennan

NLG & Chair of Governors

I have been involved in education for all of my working life. I worked as a primary teacher and subsequently served as a headteacher of two primary schools. I have a strong interest in school improvement and have also worked as an Ofsted inspector and school improvement consultant for three local authorities and more latterly several individual schools and a small number of multi academy trusts. I am currently Chair of Governors at a primary academy and am a National Leader of Governance. On a more personal note I live in Sheffield and am married with three grown up children.

Dr Aoife McGuinness

Reach4 Academy Trust Senior Governance Advisor

Prior to working at the Reach Family of Trusts, Aoife held various roles in education, regulation, finance, and medical sectors which span the UK, Ireland and Australia and includes household names such as: Solicitors Regulation Authority; University College Dublin; University College London; Royal College of Psychiatrists; Royal Australasia College of Medical Administrators; City Gateway; One Housing Group; Royal Academy of Engineering; National Employment Savings Trust; Chartered Professional Accountants Australia; Suncorp Bank/Insurance and AMP Financial Services.

Aoife is passionate about rights and responsibilities with a strong background in governance, quality assurance, policy and research. She holds a PhD in Applied Social Science from University College Dublin and was top of her year with a double first class honours degree in Social Science (International) from same, which led to the award of a post-graduate scholarship. This bachelor degree included an international year at Katholieke Universiteit, Leuven, Belgium. She is a qualified professional trainer and assessor and holds a Higher National Diploma in Health and Social Care Practice. At University College Dublin, she delivered a series of core lectures on gender studies and equality to second year undergraduates.

Benedick Ashmore-Short

Reach4 Academy Trust Director of Education

Benedick Ashmore-Short has a strong track record of inspirational school transformation in both secondary and primary. He was the winner of the 2014 Pearson ‘Primary Headteacher of the Year’. During this time he was the Principal of Hamford Primary Academy, where from 2012 his passion and dedication for improving teaching and learning rapidly moved the school from ‘Special Measures’ to a position where it is now nationally recognised. In June 2016 he started his new role as the ‘Director of Education – Primary’ with the new Multi-Academy Trust Reach4 Benedick has taught and led in all phases from EYFS to KS5, he is a motivational and inspirational leader who believes in empowering teaching staff and children to extend their potential. He is also a regular contributor and public speaker in the education press and education events and conferences.

Sue Pearce

Finance Governor

Term of office October 2015 to present

Work in the community with other charities, Mentor for Charity CEO, Students – Career ready and Social entrepreneurs . I did win the Athena Award in 2008 for networking and community work which was done by Rotherham Chamber.

Nicola Law

Reach4 Leader of Safeguarding

Charlotte Blencowe

Hatfield Academy Principal

Paul Sharpe


Thank you to the employers who have supported us with STEM this year